Hilliard Mills LLC encompasses over five acres of land, a significant portion of the Bigelow Brook, and six historic mill buildings.
History: Built in 1925, loading dock added in 1926
Style: Art Deco
Construction and Description: Building #1 is a 50,000 square foot, three-story early brick and steel I-beam construction that hearkens back to the days of the Zephyr trains and the "Roaring 20's" era. Built to last, Building #1 showcases floors that are 8" thick durable rock maple, plenty of brick arches and enormous picture windows that allow in plenty of ambient lighting. The front facade includes narrow, tall streamline windows, central massing and ornate brickwork ubiquitous to the Art Deco style. Unique in construction in that while the carrying I-beams are made of steel, the internal support columns are actually made of wood. Building #1 was designed by the famous architect Charles T. Main.
Future Plans: Restoration of the structure is ongoing, while maintaining the original Art-Deco charm, including the outer facade and interior design features.
History: Built in 1895
Style: Victorian Post and Beam
Construction and Description: The stunningly impressive wood construction of Building #2 is illustrated in its irreplaceable long-grain yellow pine beams and birds-eye rock maple flooring throughout. The 30,000 square foot structure stands at three stories with large windows, cathedral ceilings and has an additional walk-out ground floor as well. With impressive 16" by 10" beams that are 40+ feet long in places, Building #2 boasts materials that would be almost impossible to replace today. Some of the added bracing used only in the ground floor bears the name Carnegie Steel in script, indicative of the short period of 1892 and before the formation of US Steel in 1901.
Future Plans: Building #2 will be restored to its former 19th century grandeur, including clapboard siding, period lighting and hardware. Attention will be paid to offer modern utilities and amenities, while retaining and accentuating the Victorian charm of the structure. Premier office space will be incorporated into the upper three stories, as well as a portion of the ground floor.
History: Southern portion built 1882, northern portion ca. 1905 Style: Brick and Timber with upper wood floor. Construction and Description: Building #3 is a two-story 8,000 sq. ft. structure which also used a significant amount of long-leaf yellow pine for the superstructure. Building #3 was constructed in two phases.The southern half was built around 1882 and then the northern section was added sometime around 1905.During the addition, the smaller windows in the first floor of the original southern portion were made larger.
Future Plans: Building #3 is currently being carefully restored to reflect the on the original design features of the structure. The first floor will remain business space, while the second floor will be developed into premier office space.
History: Current structure built in stages between 1902 and 1923.
Style: Brick and Timber
Construction and Description: Building #4 is a single-story 6,630 sq. ft. structure with a clearstory and was home to one of the early original buildings built in the early 1800's, as seen on the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps. The steam plant was housed in this building, providing heat for the complex until the middle of the 20th century.
Future Plans: Building #4 plans involve restoration for use as a large event space that will overlook the Bigelow Brook Greenway.
History: Built in 1890
Style: Victorian Timber Frame Construction and Description:Building #5 is a two story structure and the smallest at Hilliard Mills at 1,080 sq. ft. Built in the Victorian Queen Anne style, with stained glass windows, gingerbread tiles and serene view of the Bigelow Brook, Building #5 is a great example of the synergy between industrial and residential architecture.
Building #6 History: Built in 1780, 1833 and 1860 Style: Post and Beam/Greek Revival Construction and Description:Building #6 is a three story, 7,680 sq. ft. structure and by far the oldest at Hilliard Mills.Complete with period cupola and skylights, this pre-civil war building has outlasted all.Building 6 is the oldest manufacturing structure in Manchester and possibly the greater region. Building #6 contains portions of the original 1780 carding mill Aaron Buckland started. The support beams are hand hewn chestnut and oak throughout.
Future Plans: Building #6 will be restored to how it looked during the Civil War era, complete with exposed hand-hewn beams, original window pattern and clapboard siding. As Hilliard Mills' oldest structure, Building #6 will offer executive premier business space overlooking the Bigelow Brook, Nature Preserve and Gardens.
Hilliard Mills Property
Description: The Hilliard Mills Property has over five Acres of land area, including ample parking, wooded nature areas and views of the crystal clear Bigelow Brook.
Future Plans: The site will be further improved to offer picnic areas and walking trails that accentuate the beauty of one of the most outstanding examples of 19th and 20th century industrial architecture in the Connecticut River valley. Along the north side of the Bigelow Brook a Greenway is in the planning stages that will start at Center Springs Pond and end at The Hilliard Mills.